ilashdesigns

Fiberlicious Fun – Part 2

Posted on: 06/21/2009

Eggplant Elegance Variation with Bamboo Noil

Eggplant Elegance Variation with Bamboo Noil

This pic shows the colors pretty well.

This pic shows the colors pretty well.

Here are some pics of one of the batts and the resulting yarn I added the bamboo noil too.  I started with Eggplant Elegance on the drum carder, added some periwinkle and the bamboo noil, that I dyed a violet color.  It is super soft and squisy yarn! And whisper light…The detail was hard to pick up on the camera..I will keep trying! The bamboo noil has a pretty  high luster when it’s been pulled thru the carder pins.  I will try to capture that on digi film, that kind of luster always rocks my world! It does add some spots of luster to the resulting yarn, but not like silk top of course. The bumpiness is fun to spin, the bamboo fibers are as short as silk noil, and adds  a sweet, small detail. I kinda went nutzo like I tend to do and dyed up about 10 colors I think.  Me and my little baby spoon have been playing.  It is too fun! Pics to come!

Eggplant Variety Hand Spun

Eggplant Variety Hand Spun

Eggplant Variety Hand Spun

I will probably offer it for sale in my shop, but not until I fondle it awhile longer! lol I’ve dyed up some more of the bamboo noil and checked my dye stocks..looks like I need a few more, big surprise! I’m liking this! I’m liking it A LOT! The “green” silk noil! Perfect! I would love to hear from anyone else that has experimented with this fiber and how they like it or don’t.  Please don’t hesitate to comment! Thanks for looking! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

