ilashdesigns

Butterflies and Grizzly Bears in Montana

Posted on: 06/16/2009

Here’s some phun photo’s I took over the weekend.  This Canadian Tiger Swallowtail butterfly was teasing me flying around the back yard, landing here, landing there.

Monarch Butterfly

Canadian Tiger Swallowtail

Monarch

Monarch

And I had fun teasing the grizzly bears at the Grizzly Bear Encounter (rescue center) between Livingston and Bozeman on I-90. Absolute blast stopping in there and chatting with the owners.  It’s very reasonable entertainment for $7.00.  They shared with us that although bears are genetically geared to hibernate (because of lack of food sources)  because these bears are fed everyday, these bears do not hibernate.  They come out eat, play in the snow and often put on quite the show.  So if you are ever around in the winter, don’t hesitate to stop in!

Grizzly Bear

Grizzly Bears

Grizzly Bear

She waved twice, I caught it the second time!

She waved twice, I caught it the second time!

He was intent on some females in the back area, and did not come any closer.

He was intent on some females in the back area, and did not come any closer.

He was pacing a 6 foot area..constant and intent!

He was pacing a 6 foot area..constant and intent!

Quite a difference in size.

Quite a difference in size.

The big brown bear is named Brutus, and has been in some movies and was also featured in his own documentary on the Animal Planet some time ago. I couldn’t find a link to that specific documentary, but here’s the one for the Grizzly Bear Encounter :    http://www.grizzlyencounter.com

And this one is a link to the Animal Planet channel with a video of grizzly bears eating salmon (have to sit thru the ad first tho): http://animal.discovery.com/videos/planets-best-grizzly-bear-encounter.html

And although the owner had plenty of sweet things to say about these specific bears…there are lots of folks that get mauled by bears every year in Montana.  Best thing, STAY AWAY FROM BEARS! They are hungry and you could be lunch!  But, chasing butterflies is highly recommended!

Have a great day! 🙂 Ny.

4 Responses to "Butterflies and Grizzly Bears in Montana"

Hi there! Hate to sound like a know-it-all, but… I believe that the butterfly you have pictured is actually a Canadian Tiger Swallowtail rather than a Monarch. Monarchs are orange and black. Anyway, only thing that really matters is that you had a fun day : )

Hi! I love it that you shared that with me! Thank you so much! Now I will go google them (and correct my post). Thanks for stopping by and this qualifies you to enter my June Fiberlicous Giveaway, unless you would prefer not to. I did have a great day and I wish you the same! 🙂 Ny.

Sure, I would love to be included in the Fiberlicous contest. The scarf is very beautiful. I actually live in Livingston Montana and it gets pretty cold here in the winter. If I was to win, the scarf would make a great gift for my girlfriend this winter. Oddly enough, she works for the National Resources Defense Council protecting Grizzly Bears (the very topic of this post!). : D

Great! Your in! Well, then you’ve been to the Grizzly Encounter then? I don’t know if I’ve put it in my blog..(will have to go look now)..but yeah, we are just in Billings! lol The scarf probably won’t be so much for warmth, as it is all acrylic yarns…but wrapped around the neck a couple times will keep out some cold I’m thinking. I offer some nanook type scarves in my Etsy shop that I wear and now they ARE warm!!! Just to let you know, this woven one is more of a fashion accessory. But thank you so much for visiting my blog, and cluing me in on the butterfly! And stop by next month and chat me up for that Give Away too, if you think of it! Have a great day!!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

